Diamond Materials

Diamond Materials for Quantum Application

23. September 2014: The DFG research group FOR 1493 “Diamond Materials and Quantum Applications” goes into its second funding period. FOR1493 is a national research consortium funded by the Deutsche Forsch-ungsgemeinschaft.

More Infomation

ERC Advanced Grant


Structural Attributes and Photodynamics of Quantum Emitters

Newly discovered van der Waals materials like MoS2, WSe2, hexagonal boron nitride (h-BN) and recently C2N have sparked intensive research to unveil the quantum behavior associated with their 2D structure. Of great interest are 2D materials that host single quantum emitters. h-BN, with a band-gap of –5.95 eV, has been shown to host single quantum emitters which are stable at room temperature in the UV and visible spectral range. Here we investigate correlations between h-BN structural features and emitter location from bulk down to the mono-layer at room temperature. We demonstrate that chemical etching and ion irradiation can generate emitters in h-BN. We analyze the emitters’ spectral features and show that they are dominated by the interaction of their electronic transition with a single Raman active mode of h-BN. Photo-dynamics analysis reveals diverse rates between the electronic states of the emitter. The emitters show excellent photo stability even under ambient conditions and in monolayers. Comparing the excitation polarization between different emitters unveils a connection between defect orientation and the h-BN hexagonal structure. The sharp spectral features, color diversity, room-temperature stability, long lived meta-stable states, ease of fabrication, proximity of the emitters to the environment, outstanding chemical stability and biocompatibility of h-BN provide a completely new class of systems that can be used for sensing and quantum photonics applications.

Structural Attributes and Photodynamics of Visible Spectrum Quantum Emitters in Hexagonal Boron Nitride
Nathan Chejanovsky, Mohammad Rezai, Federico Paolucci, Youngwook Kim, Torsten Rendler, Wafa Rouabeh, Felipe Fávaro de Oliveira, Patrick Herlinger, Andrej Denisenko, Sen Yang, Ilja Gerhardt, Amit Finkler, Jurgen H. Smet and Jörg Wrachtrup
Link (extern):